Feeding a cold with hearty food, vitamins and tea

My second week back at work after the winter holidays I was completely ambushed with a vicious, headstrong cold. I was blind-sided and disheartened since it seemed that my trip up to San Francisco for the long MLK weekend would have to be cancelled. However, I upped my calorie intake (and allowed myself more carbohydrates than usual), resumed taking my vitamins and hibernated for a bit. By the end of the week I was feeling fine and enthusiastically rushed up to San Francisco for an amazing weekend of food, friends and love.

Here’s how I cope with being sick:

Remember the instant oatmeal packs your mom used to buy, well maple brown sugar was always my favorite flavor. I discovered that making oatmeal with half coconut nog and half water results in a similar yet much more delicious flavor. Needless to say, this was my breakfast for the entire duration of my cold.

Mmmm….tea. A daily staple for me; however, I swapped out my usual ginger tea with some cold care tea.

Easy dinner consists of veggie gyoza from Trader Joe’s with brown rice and drizzled with sesame oil.

Spicy butternut squash soup that I had made the week before was a quick lunch that didn’t require any effort. I ate it with toasted slices of whole wheat bread.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

