Sunday Fun Day Doughnuts

Vegan MoFo

I’m going to preface this post by admitting that I not big on watching sports. Not because I’m a woman, that cliché is misinformed, I know plenty of women who are fans of particular teams and sports. I, on the other hand, am not a huge spots fan because I was not raised watching sports; my parents thought cable would destroy our time as a family. So I developed other passions and ways of filling my time, like tap dancing, community theatre, singing, watching classic movies, and reading. While I’m not really involved with community theatre now and my tap dancing is relegated to my kitchen, I am still involved with most of my same interests as well as new ones, like wine, food, health, travel, and Doctor Who. Though I don’t know much about sports, I do understand it is an interest that a lot of people share and it is one way for people to unwind and share in a larger community, which is the basis for several of my interests as well. Part of the fun of watching Doctor Who is being entranced by the story and part of it is debating plot points with other fans, feeling connected with a larger group of people.

Now that I’ve explained my undeveloped interest in sports I can tell you that my friends and I planned this Sunday Fun Day where a big part is watching football and drinking mimosas. I did join in on the mimosas and a few minutes of football, but then I headed to the kitchen to do some baking. One of my friends joined me to bake some Pillsbury rolls, which, according to PETA’s website, are actually vegan. I set about whipping up some vegan doughnuts using the plain cake doughnut recipe from Babycakes’ cookbook, Babycakes Covers the Classics. I love both of my Babycakes cookbooks as well the bakery itself. All of the baked goods are phenomenal and their recipes are foolproof. Most of their recipes are gluten-free but I usually just use all-purpose flour instead of the gluten-free flours.

Chocolate Glazed Doughnuts

Unfortunately, I don’t feel comfortable posting Babycakes’ recipe here since I didn’t make any unique modifications, but you can click the linked cookbook title above and buy their book or Barnes and Noble usually carries it. I highly suggest doing so, they have so many fantastic recipes and I’ve never had a bad batch yet. You could soon be devouring fluffy snickerdoodles that taste a bit like heaven, or thin mints, or even a 6 layer chocolate cake with raspberry preserves. The good news is that I did come up with my own glaze recipe that I will share with you!

Chocolate Glaze

Makes 12 servings

Ingredients:

2 1/2 tablespoons coconut oil

2 tablespoons vegan chocolate chips

1 teaspoon maple syrup

Directions:

If the coconut oil isn’t already melted add it and the chocolate chips to a microwave safe bowl. You can use a double boiler but I just use the microwave in 30-second increments until both are melted. Once both the coconut oil and chocolate are melted, add the maple syrup and stir everything together. Dip doughnuts, or whatever baked good you like into the glaze and let sit.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

